Stewards of Mysteries

While the context of the verses below is specifically speaking about the Apostle Paul and the responsibility entrusted to him as an Apostle of Christ, the incredible power of these verses extends to another group of people who are given an awesome privilege: Writers. Think about the following words in those terms.

“Let a man regard us in this manner, as servants of Christ and stewards of the mysteries of God.” (I Corinthians 4:1)

Writer, don’t let the word “mysteries” toss you for a loop. Here–as in I Corinthians 2:7–the word “mysteries” means those truths previously unknown or not clearly proclaimed until the time was right. It is a revealing of truth…a flipping of the light switch. God had history wired for His light, but He lit a few lights at a time. The coming of Jesus signified the flipping of the big switch that allowed the most breath-taking light to shine.

What does this have to do with writers? It applies in some awe-inspiring ways! First and foremost, we write in glad submission to our Lord. We are servants of Christ. Editors, agents, publishing houses, and even our readers are secondary. And, second, we are stewards of the mysteries of God. Caretakers of the holy.

Wow!

Try to lazy your way through a story once you grab that fact!

Then read the second verse in I Corinthians 4:

“…it is required of stewards that one be found trustworthy.”

Why am I stressing this? Read on…

“…but the one who examines me is the Lord. [When the Lord comes, He will] bring to light the things hidden in the darkness and disclose the motives of men’s hearts; and then each man’s praise will come to him from God.” (I Corinthians 4: 4-5)

Yeah, it matters. I want to be a good steward of story. I want to give it my best because God has trusted me with something powerful and priceless. And He will write the final review…not just of a single novel, but of my heart’s motives. He knows what I write AND why I write.

Same for you. Does it matter?

4 Comments

Filed under Christian Fiction, Christian Growth, Christian Life, Larry W. Timm, Writing

4 responses to “Stewards of Mysteries

  1. 1 Corinthians 4:1 is definitely a defining verse in my life, as well as in my writing.

  2. Dr. Timothy E. Caldwell

    Very Nice Brother.
    I have often wondered if, or when, that might ever be any additions to the Bible. Who might the LORD call on for this task?

    My guess: A WRITER. I believe GOD would ask someone who can convey THE WORD to others.

    Sharpen your skills dear brother…one day you may be called on by GOD for your services. ❤

    • Tim, I’m one of those who believes that the Bible is a completed collection of “books” and, therefore, there is no more to be added. It is a heavy topic, but the I believe God has already conveyed everything necessary for saving faith. That, however, doesn’t mean His Spirit is not still working in areas other than the creation and inspiration of Scripture. The Holy Spirit empowers us to live the consequences of Christianity so that we can influence our society for Jesus. Writing is only one way to do it. But it’s an exciting ride! Each believer has the power to infuence (salt & light) the dark and decaying world in whatever way God has gifted them. And God calls on our services every day. So, you are sooooo right, keeping our skills sharp is required of all of us. You are a blessing to me, brother. Thanks.

Leave a comment