“Top 10 Things I’ve learned at Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writers Conference”

I can’t wait to tell you all the serious, soul-stretching lessons I’ve learned while tucked away on the beautiful campus of the Ridgeway Conference Center in North Carolina. But that will have to wait…instead I bring you:

Top 10 Things I’ve Learned at BRMCWC

# 10:  I shouldn’t go listen to the super-hilarious Torry Martin speak if I have a full bladder…(don’t worry, I’m sure they removed the chair I was sitting in)…seriously, he is one of the funniest people I’ve ever heard.

# 9:  Eddie Melson loves Social Media as much as I love Dr. Pepper! (Maybe next year I can teach a class on “The importance of Dr. Pepper in a Writer’s life”)

# 8:  As the week goes on, I’m hearing my voices in my head, and they’re all shouting, “Get more coffee! NOW!” (And allllllllllll God’s children said…..”

# 7:  If Karl Bacon, Joe Courtmanche, and I were actually identical triplets separated at birth, society is probably better for it. (I mean those two are nuttier than a bag of almonds)

# 6:  It’s important to read the labels on the bottles you find in the bathroom, because hand/body lotion is not the same as conditioner. But I do now have the most smooth and supple scalp at the conference.

# 5:  Each day ten more steps appear that were NOT there the day before. They! Were! Not! There!

# 4:  The more exhausted I get, the greater the likelihood that I will weep tears of joy at the sight of a pan filled with bacon.

#3:  The reason I wear a name tag is because when I’m trying to pitch my story to an agent or editor I get so nervous I have no idea who I am, so I giggle, thump my name tag holder, and start talking like Yoda…”Ahhhh, me this is…” (Any wonder why I’m still unpublished?)

# 2:  In these here parts, Al Gansky is affectionately referred to as “The Right Reverend, Doctor, You-Got-Music-But-I-Still-Have-N0-Rythym, Father, Hey-I’m-Talking-Here, Conference Director Allllllton Gansky.”

and the # 1 thing I’ve learned so far during my stay at BRMCWC……

# 1:  When I’m out walking around the conference center at night, I scream exactly the same if it’s a man-eating black bear or just the wind rustling a bush!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Christian Fiction, Christian Growth, Christian Life, Larry W. Timm, Top 10 List, Top Ten list

6 responses to ““Top 10 Things I’ve learned at Blue Ridge Mountain Christian Writers Conference”

  1. And here I was thinking I was the only one who’d scream at a bear with a fettish for conference attendees!

    As always, great post.

    • LOL. Yep, Elaine….I may become speechless in front of an agent or editor, but I’m afraid of what might come out of my mouth if confronted with a bear…or a menacing bush. 🙂

  2. I’m considering going to a writer’s conference in Muncie, Indiana in July. Still weighing the value versus cost. It sounds like I should factor in “entertainment value” as well. 🙂

  3. Robin Gilbert Luftig

    And #1A, try not to have anything at all in your mouth … because I PROMISE you will spew it on to those sitting close when Torry struts like a model.Gotta love that guy! Thanks for the reminders.

Leave a comment